May 1, 2017 Finance Committee meeting

May 1, 2017 Finance Committee meeting

Postby Mary Wright » Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:40 am

MONDAY, MAY 1, 2017

A meeting of the Finance Committee (FC) was held on Monday, May 1, 2017 at the high school prior to Town Meeting. Ms. Holmes called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.

PRESENT: Pamela Holmes (Chair), Brett Argall, Howard D’Amico (arrived 6:38 PM), Carol Gogolinski, Ryan Hogan (Vice Chair), Michael Hutnak, Cynthia Shurick
ABSENT: Jerome Kocur
NON-VOTING: Jeanne Lovett (Finance Director), William Cundiff (Town Engineer), Kelly Brown (Dept. of Energy Resources-DOER), Michael Berry (ICF International)

There were no recommendations to be made for the STM.
For the ATM:
Article 18-Adoption of the Stretch Energy Code (SEC): Mr. Cundiff introduced Ms. Kelly of the DOER and Mr. Berry, a consultant to the DOER. The Building Facilities Construction Committee (BFCC) has reviewed the proposal and voted in favor of it with a vote of 3-2. Adoption of the SEC is one of the five criteria to become a Green Community. The SEC is a modification to the energy code for new building construction. A discussion was held.
Ms. Holmes asked how adoption of the SEC has affected new construction in the communities that have adopted it. Ms. Gogolinski stated that Sutton needed to hire a person to oversee SEC compliance. Mr. Cundiff stated that as a Green Community, Douglas would be eligible for grants and funding.
Mr. Argall made a motion to make no recommendation on Article 18 to the Annual Town Meeting. Mr. Hogan seconded the motion. Vote: Aye-4, No-1, Mr. Hutnak abstained.
Article 19–Moratorium on Recreational Marijuana Facilities.
Mr. Cundiff stated that the moratorium defers implementation of the State law that recently passed until January 1, 2019.
Mr. D’Amico made a motion to recommend Article 19 to the Annual Town Meeting as presented. Mr. Argall seconded the motion. Vote: Unanimous.

2. APPROVE MEETING MINUTES: March 28, April 4, & April 11, 2017
Approval of the above Finance Committee meeting minutes was deferred to the next meeting.

Ms. Lovett presented a $3,100 transfer for the Assessors for a rebate. Mr. Argall made a motion to approve a transfer of $3,100 from the Reserve Fund for the purpose of interest on the abatement. Mr. Hutnak seconded the motion. Vote: Unanimous.
The next transfer was for $3,000 for Highway Dept. repairs.
Mr. Hogan made a motion to approve a transfer of $3,000 from the Reserve Fund to Highway Dept. Repairs and Maintenance. Mr. Argall seconded the motion. Vote: Unanimous.
The third transfer relates to an article on the STM warrant for Veterans’ benefits. Ms. Holmes suggested recessing the meeting until the end of tonight’s Town Meeting. If the article does not pass, there will need to be a Reserve Fund Transfer.

The next Finance Committee meeting will be June 20, 2017 at 7:00 PM. Ms. Holmes suggested reorganizing at the end of that meeting.

Mr. Hogan made a motion at 6:47 PM to recess the meeting and adjourn the Finance Committee meeting at the end of tonight’s Annual Town Meeting if no further business is necessary. Mr. Hutnak seconded the motion. Vote: Unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Wright
Recording Secretary
Mary Wright
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:56 pm

Return to Finance Committee Minutes & Agendas - 2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests