Theft of the fifth degree is defined as the theft of property with a value of less than $300. Simple misdemeanors are punished by up to 30 days in prison and a maximum fine of $1,085 for violating this law. In addition to the fine, there is a 15 percent surcharge and $60 in court expenses.
Theft on a Fifth-Degree Level Stealing goods or services worth at less than $300 is considered a simple misdemeanor and is punished by up to 30 days in jail as well as a fine of $65 to $625, depending on the value of the goods or services stolen.
Is 5th degree theft a felony in Iowa?
In Iowa, there are many levels of theft. When the value of the stolen items or services exceeds $1,500, the offense is classified as a felony, which is a more serious form of crime than petty theft. In Iowa, thefts in the fifth, fourth, and third degrees are considered misdemeanors; thefts in the second and first degrees are considered crimes.
What is a 5th degree misdemeanor in Iowa?
When a person steals goods worth less than $300, it is considered fifth-degree theft. Fifth-degree theft is a significant charge, despite the fact that it is regarded the least serious of the charges. It is a simple misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in prison and/or a fine of up to $500. Fines ranging from $105 to $855 are possible.
What amount of theft is a felony in Iowa?
Theft of property valued up to $200 is considered a simple misdemeanor in most jurisdictions. The amount of $200 to $500 is considered a major offence. An aggravated misdemeanor is defined as a fine between $500 and $1,000. Theft of a vehicle or motorbike valued between $1,000 and $10,000 is a Class D felony, as is the theft of $1,000 to $10,000.
What is the punishment for 4th degree theft in Iowa?
Fourth-degree theft is defined as the theft of items with a value surpassing $300 but not exceeding $750 in value. This is a major misdemeanor that can result in up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,540 if found guilty.
What are the levels of theft in Iowa?
In Iowa, there are five (5) different levels of theft for which a person can be prosecuted. First degree theft, second degree theft, third degree theft, fourth degree theft, and fifth degree theft are the five stages of theft.
Do misdemeanors go away in Iowa?
According to Iowa Code Section 321 and 321J, a person who has been convicted of any minor misdemeanor, with the exception of domestic abuse assault and driving violations, can have the conviction erased or deleted from their criminal record as of July 1, 2019.
What is the punishment for an aggravated misdemeanor in Iowa?
In accordance with Iowa Code 903.1(2), an aggravated misdemeanor is punishable by imprisonment for a period not to exceed two years in a facility maintained by the Department of Corrections and a fine of not less than $625 but not more than $6,253.35 in addition to other penalties.
What is Grand theft?
In order to commit grand theft, the person who takes the property must have done so with the express aim of depriving the victim of the item, or stealing, as defined by the law.
What is a Class C felony in Iowa?
Felony of the Third Degree (Class ″C″). Penalties for Class ″C″ crimes include up to ten years in jail and a fine ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 in most cases. (See Iowa Code Section 902.9.) As an example, attacks that are intended to inflict significant injury and actually do so are penalized as class ″C″ crimes under the law.
What is first degree theft in Iowa?
Theft in the first degree is classified as a crime of the third degree (class ″C″). 2) Property valued at more than one thousand five hundred dollars but not more than ten thousand dollars, or the theft of a motor vehicle as described in Chapter 321 but not more than ten thousand dollars in value, constitutes theft in the second degree.
Is eluding police a felony in Iowa?
Under Iowa law, eluding and fleeing is a serious criminal violation. Depending on the circumstances, you may be facing a felony charge and prison term in addition to other penalties.
What is 3rd degree burglary in Iowa?
Burglary in the third degree is a class ″D″ felony, with the exception of the circumstances described in paragraph 2. If you commit burglary in the third degree while breaking into an unoccupied motor vehicle or motor truck as defined in section 321.1, or a vessel as described in section 462A.2, you will be charged with an aggravated misdemeanor for the first time.
How much is a trespassing ticket in Iowa?
Iowa Statutes Establish Penalties for Trespassing. A typical trespassing accusation is a minor misdemeanor that can result in a fine ranging from $65 to $625 as well as up to 30 days in prison if proven guilty. Important: If you refuse to leave the premises after obtaining a ticket, an officer may detain you until the matter is resolved.
What is 2nd degree burglary in Iowa?
Among the requirements for Second Degree Burglary are that the burglary be committed in or upon an occupied structure where no persons are present, that the burglary be committed while the perpetrator is in possession of an explosive, incendiary device or material, or a dangerous weapon; and that no bodily injury be caused to any person.