Couples who apply for a marriage license in person must meet the following requirements:
- Appear in person at one of the Clerk’s four Vital Records sites with your partner.
- You must provide a valid identity card as well as evidence of your age.
- The marriage license application must be completed and signed
- Pay the $60 money for the marriage license
What do you need to get married at the courthouse in Illinois?
Bring some kind of identification, such as a birth certificate, driver’s license, or passport, with you to the appointment. Because the marriage license is only valid in the county in which it was issued for 60 days, your wedding ceremony must take place inside the county in where the license was obtained.
How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in Illinois?
Fill out and sign the application for a marriage license. Bring proper identification as well as evidence of your age. The cost of a marriage license is $60.
How do you get married at a local courthouse?
Planning a Courthouse Wedding: A Step-by-Step Guide
- Determine the location of the city hall.
- Examine the requirements for obtaining a marriage license.
- Make an application for a marriage license.
- Make an appointment or nominate a day for your meeting.
- Make a checklist for your courthouse wedding.
- Make a video recording of the event.
- Make an invitation to your closest family members or friends
- Choose an outfit that makes you feel good
Can you get married the same day you get your marriage license in Illinois?
After submitting an application for an Illinois marriage license at the county clerk’s office in the county where the wedding will take place, you will get your license immediately. There are no waiting periods, and the license is valid for up to 60 days after it is issued, with the first day of use being the day it is issued.
Do I need witnesses to get married in Illinois?
Illinois law does not necessitate the presence of witnesses in any case. Indiana has repealed the requirement for witnesses in civil cases. When applying for a marriage license in Iowa, you must have one (1) witness who is above the age of 18 present with you at the time of the application.
Can you get married online in Illinois?
Couples may now submit an online application for a marriage license. In accordance with Executive Order 2020-36, which was issued by Governor Pritzker on May 1, 2020, our office is authorized to employ videoconferencing technology to facilitate the application for a Marriage License for couples.
What should a bride wear to a courthouse wedding?
The dress code for a courthouse wedding is rather straightforward. Whatever you want to wear is totally up to you; there are no restrictions! Bridal suits, short dresses, slip dresses, and jumpsuits are some of the most popular wedding attire options for a courthouse ceremony.
What do you need to marry someone in Illinois?
Age, residency, and overall health are required. You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a marriage license in Illinois without the agreement of your parents. When you are at least 16 years old, you must present proof of the approval of both of your parents, as well as proof that the marriage is not forbidden by the state’s laws. There are no residency restrictions in Illinois.
Can you get married without a marriage license?
What legal documents are necessary for a marriage to be valid? You must get a marriage license from your county clerk and pay a fee to the clerk in order to tie the knot. As long as you and your spouse complete all of the conditions, your marriage license should be issued without difficulty. After that, you can proceed with your ceremony.
What are the steps to getting married?
To obtain a marriage license and marriage certificate, follow these steps:
- Choose a date and place for your wedding ceremony
- Locate the county clerk’s office in your area.
- Find a suitable officiant.
- Make an application for a marriage license
- Get married and sign the document
- The document is delivered to the courts by the officiant.
- You will be given your marriage certificate.
What is a quick wedding called?
In today’s society, the term ″elopement″ is used to describe any marriage that is done in a hurry, with a limited public engagement period, or without a public engagement period at all. Some couples choose to elope in order to avoid the disapproval of their parents or religious leaders.
Do you say vows at a courthouse wedding?
The average number of attendees for a courthouse wedding is less than ten people. In all, a courthouse wedding can be completed in less than ten minutes at the most. It also does not necessitate any of the traditional traditions that we associate with weddings. There is no requirement for a sermon, no requirement for vows, and no requirement for exchanging wedding rings.
How can I get married without a wedding?
Elopements and civil ceremonies/civil weddings are both legally binding ways to be married without having to attend a traditional wedding ceremony or reception. With elopements, you’ll pick up a marriage license from the County Clerk and Recorder, sign it on the day of your elopement, and then have it filed with the County Clerk and Recorder once the ceremony is over.
Does Illinois recognize common law marriage?
In the state of Illinois, common law marriages are not recognized. In order to be legally married in this state, you must first get a marriage license. You were not married unless you entered into a common law marriage in another state that allows them or unless you entered into a common law marriage while you were living together.
How do I go about changing my last name after marriage?
How to Change Your Name in Ten Simple Steps
- Obtain your marriage license as well as certified copies of it.
- Make sure your Social Security card is up to date.
- Acquire a brand new driver’s license.
- Obtain a new passport as well as travel documentation.
- Your bank accounts’ names should be changed.
- Rename your credit cards to reflect your new identity.
- Provide your employer with your new name and banking information.