1. What is Super Speeder and how does it work? Drivers convicted of speeding at or above 75 miles per hour on a two-lane road, or at or above 85 miles per hour on any road or highway in the state of Georgia are classified as Super Speeders under Georgia’s ‘Super Speeder Law.’
How much is a Super speeder ticket in Georgia?
The ultimate fee may be substantial, depending on how fast you were traveling and which county you were in. In Hinesville, a speeding citation that is 24 miles per hour or more over the limit will cost you $688. Add another $200 for the Super Speeder fine, and you’re looking at a total of nearly $900 in fines. How many miles per hour can a Super Speeder travel?
What is a Super speeder?
Although the label of ‘Super Speeder’ may be appealing, it is a costly distinction that puts the lives of other drivers on the road at danger. If you have been wounded by one of these so-called Super Speeders, you may be able to seek compensation for your injuries and losses.
Is 15 over a Super Speeder in Georgia?
The maximum speed restriction on most rural interstates in Georgia is 70 miles per hour, with the exception of a few exceptions. In other words, you just need to be traveling at 15 miles per hour over the speed limit in order to be classified as a Super Speeder.
Is 25 over a Super Speeder in GA?
25 for exceeding five miles per hour but not exceeding ten miles per hour. 100 points for exceeding ten miles per hour but less than fourteen miles per hour.
How much is a ticket for 20 over in Georgia?
1-4 miles over are charged nothing; 5-10 miles over are charged $25; 10-14 miles over are charged $100; 15-18 miles over are charged $125; 19-23 miles over are charged $150; and 24-33 miles are charged $500.
Is 23 over a Super Speeder in Georgia?
2 points for exceeding the speed limit by 15-18 mph. 3 points for exceeding the posted speed limit by 19-23 mph. 4 points for exceeding the posted speed limit by 24-33 mph. 6 points for exceeding the speed limit by 34 miles per hour or more.
Can you go 10 over the speed limit in Georgia?
However, the following are the maximum penalty that can be assessed for a first-time speeding violation: $25 for exceeding the speed limit by more than 5 mph, more than 10 mph, more than 14 mph, more than 19 mph.
What speed is considered reckless driving in Georgia?
Because reckless driving is defined as driving with ″a purposeful disregard for the safety of people and their property″ in Georgia, there is no specific speed that is deemed reckless driving in the state. You can, however, be charged with reckless driving in Georgia if you are caught speeding—typically, you will be charged with reckless driving.
Can you go 5 miles over the speed limit in Georgia?
Is it legal for me to drive 5 mph faster than the posted speed limit in Georgia? The listed speed limits are in effect in all 50 states. Driving faster than the official speed limit is strictly prohibited, and violators will be subject to a traffic ticket.
Is a Super Speeder a felony in GA?
In the case of a Super Speeder, the financial penalty is assessed rather than a felony or criminal charge.
How many points is a super speeder ticket in Georgia?
If you’re a super speeder, how many points can you rack up on your license?
|15 to 18 mph over speed limit||2 Points|
|19 to 23 mph over speed limit||3 Points|
|24 to 33 mph over speed limit||4 Points|
|34 mph or more over speed limit||6 Points|
Can you go to jail for Super Speeder in GA?
If you are convicted of driving with a suspended license, you will be arrested and sent to jail, where you will face a minimum jail term of 2 days and a minimum fine of $500. Additionally, as part of the punishment for driving with a suspended license, your license will be suspended for an additional six months.
Can I go to jail for speeding?
A speeding ticket does not invariably result in incarceration. The police, on the other hand, can issue a citation for irresponsible driving. In certain situations, your driving might result in a misdemeanor or felony criminal penalty depending on the circumstances. As a result of your conviction for speeding, you might face prison time.
What happens if you get a super speeder ticket in Georgia?
The Super Speeder Law provides that if you are guilty of breaching the law, you have 120 days from the date of your notification to pay the fine or your driver’s license will be suspended. You will not be able to have your license reinstated until you have paid the Super Speeder fine as well as a $50 license reinstatement fee to the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
How much does 2 points affect insurance in GA?
According to the state, the insurance provider, and the type of offense, two points will raise a driver’s premiums by around 20 percent to 100 percent.
How long does Super Speeder stay on your record in GA?
In Georgia, you’ll be fined $200 if you’re caught speeding on the highway. If you are caught for exceeding the speed limit by 30 miles per hour, your insurance premiums may rise as a result of the violation. A conviction under the Super Speeder statute will remain on your criminal record for about 35 months if you are convicted.
Can you plead nolo on a super speeder ticket in Georgia?
Is it possible for me to plead nolo or nolo contendere in order to avoid the extra superspeeder fine? No. It is not possible to avoid the imposition of the super speeder fee by entering a plea of nolo contendere or a zero points order in court.