- If you intend to buy a boat in Missouri but the current owner has misplaced the title, the current owner must first obtain a duplicate title from the Missouri Department of Revenue by submitting an Application for Missouri Title and License.
- This must be done before you can complete the purchase of the boat.
- After the transaction is finalized, it is your responsibility to submit an application for the vehicle’s title and registration.
How do I get a temporary boat registration in Missouri?
You will need to fill out the Missouri boat registration form, also known as the DOR-93, Missouri Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and Registration Application, and hand it in person to the local DOR motor vehicle office in order to apply for the temporary permit, which will then become a registration for the boat that is valid for three years.
How do I get a replacement boat title in Missouri?
- To begin the process of requesting a replacement boat title, acquire the necessary items: A properly filled out Application for the Title and Registration of a Boat, Vessel, or Outboard Motor in the State of Missouri (Form DOR-93).
- You ARE REQUIRED to sign the application in the presence of a public notary.
- a notarized Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name from Title, if any of those apply to the situation (Form DOR-4809).
Do you need a title for an outboard motor in Missouri?
- Titles and registrations are necessary for all outboard motors, with the exception of trolling motors and electric outboard motors.
- You will be given a decal for the outboard motor after it has been given a title and registered.
- Items that are owned by inhabitants of another state and have been kept, stored, or operated in the state of Missouri for a period of fewer than sixty days in a row;
Do I need a title and registration for my Boat?
- Ships that are owned by the United States government.
- Do you still have questions about whether or not a title and registration are necessary for your boat?
- Dial (573) 526-3669 to reach the Missouri Department of Revenue’s vessel titling and registration number.
- If you buy a boat in Missouri and don’t have it titled and registered within the first 60 days of ownership, you’ll be subject to a monthly fee of $10 and a maximum fine of $30.
Can I register a boat in Missouri with a bill of sale?
In the state of Missouri, registering a boat necessitates presenting a bill of sale as proof of purchase. You will also require a title or a copy of Form 93, in addition to a declaration of origin from the manufacturer.
Does a boat need a title in Missouri?
The state of Missouri has a statute that mandates the titling and registration of all motorized boats (watercrafts), including outboard motors. This includes watercraft such as jet skis and motorized water bikes, as well as any vessel with a length more than 12 feet that is propelled by sail alone or by a combination of sail and technology.
How do I file for a lost boat title in Missouri?
You are need to supply the following items when applying for a duplicate title:
- An application for a Missouri driver’s license and title (Form 108), which has been filled out in its whole, signed, and includes the following:
- In the event that it is relevant, a notarized Lien Release (Form 4809) is necessary
- Pay a $6 processing charge in addition to the $8.50 price for the duplicate title
Does a bill of sale for a boat have to be notarized in Missouri?
When demonstrating evidence of ownership on important component components of a rebuilt vehicle or when the Department of Revenue expressly requests that the Bill of Sale or Even-Trade Bill of Sale be notarized, both the Bill of Sale and the Even-Trade Bill of Sale are required to be notarized. or the Vehicle Sold In Exchange Section.
What do you need to license a boat trailer in Missouri?
If you are registering a trailer in the state of Missouri, you will need to provide a signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108), as well as an original paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from your county of residence (or the city of St. Louis) for the previous year.
How much is it to register a boat and motor in Missouri?
Costs Related to Registration and Processing
|Length of Boat/Vessel||Fees||Processing Fee|
|Under 16 feet||$25||$6|
|16 feet but less than 26 feet||$55||$6|
|26 feet but less than 40 feet||$100||$6|
|40 feet and over||$150||$6|
Do boats in Missouri have to be inspected?
Before they may be used on state waters, all motorized vessels, sailboats that are more than 12 feet long, and gasoline-powered outboard motors are required by law to be titled and registered with the state within sixty days of the date of purchase.
What is required to operate a boat in Missouri?
The Boater Education Law of Missouri became operational on the first of the year 2005. Before being allowed to operate a motorized watercraft on the lakes in the state of Missouri, the law mandates that anybody who was born on or after January 1, 1984 must first complete and pass a Missouri Boater Education course and exam.
How long does it take to get a lost title in Missouri?
In the state of Missouri, how much time does it take to receive a replacement title? You should receive the new title within four to six weeks if your application is fully filled out and submitted. You can utilize this online inquiry form if the processing time for your application is taking too long.
How do you get a bonded title in Missouri?
In the state of Missouri, in order to receive a bonded title for your automobile, you are required to fulfill the following requirements:
- You are required to have a motor vehicle or trailer that is at least seven years old
- The car can have a value of no more than $3,000
- Either the car does not have a title since it has never been registered with the Motor Vehicle Bureau or there is a dispute on who the legal owner of the vehicle is
Is Missouri a title holding state?
There are just nine states that may claim to have a title, and they are as follows: Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New York, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin. In the other 41 states, the title to your car will not be released to you until the creditor who has the lien has been paid in full.
Can I get a title with a bill of sale in Missouri?
NOTE: A bill of sale can only be used if the purchaser or seller is from a state that does not require the issuance of titles, or if the seller is located in the state of Missouri and provides the purchaser with a statement from the county assessor of the seller’s county stating that the manufactured home was previously assessed as real estate.
Do you have to register a boat with a trolling motor in Missouri?
TROLLING MOTOR USE ON MISSOURI WATERS The Department of Revenue in the state of Missouri mandates the titling and registration of ALL boats that are propelled by a mechanical system, with the following exceptions: boats of any length that are powered only by oars, paddles, or a combination of the two. Sailboats and sailboards that are shorter than 12 feet in length are allowed.
Does Missouri DMV require a bill of sale?
- A bill of sale for a motor vehicle in the state of Missouri is a legal document that is used in the process of selling and buying motor vehicles.
- It gives information about both the buyer and the seller, as well as the car itself.
- In order to register a car in the state of Missouri, you will need to submit this document, which serves as evidence of a change in ownership as well as a ″Even-Trade.″