Failure to renew your Illinois license plate sticker before it expires can result in a $20 late fee being assessed against your license plate. Although a $20 fine may not seem like much of a deal, it is not the only penalty that may be imposed if your tags are over their expiration date.
How much does it cost to renew a license plate in Illinois?
The cost of renewing your vehicle’s registration in Illinois can vary based on the type of vehicle you possess. Vehicle for transporting passengers: $151. Trucks are priced at $151. Motorcycles are priced at $41. Online transactions are subject to an additional charge. Please keep in mind that there are additional expenses for customized and vanity license plates.
How much does it cost to replace an expired license plate?
If your current plates do not expire within 90 days, you will be charged $29 (plus a $29 replacement fee). Obtaining a license for the first time or for a newly purchased car costs $395 ($150 title charge plus $151 registration price plus $94 vanity fee). The cost of a currently titled car or the first time issuance is $245 ($151 registration charge plus $94 vanity fee).
What happens if you lose your license plate in Illinois?
When your vehicle passes the inspection, your testing center will electronically notify the Illinois Secretary of State, and you will be able to renew your registration at that time.If your registration sticker or Illinois license plate is misplaced, stolen, or damaged, you can obtain a duplicate over the mail or in person at the Illinois Secretary of State’s office.You will not be able to obtain a duplicate online.
What is the penalty for driving with an expired registration in Illinois?
If you are a resident of Will County or Illinois who has been fined for driving with an expired registration, your first action should be to renew your registration to demonstrate that you are presently driving with a current registration. A $90 fine is levied in Will County, as well as throughout the state of Illinois, for driving with an expired registration.
How much is an expired tag ticket in Illinois?
A $90 fine is levied in Will County, as well as throughout the state of Illinois, for driving with an expired registration. An additional $20 late registration fee will be charged to anybody who renews their registration after the 30-day grace period has expired.
How long can you drive on expired plates in Illinois?
There is good news for people who have licenses and car registrations that have expired. Motorists will have 90 days from the time offices reopen to take care of expired plates and licenses, according to an extension granted by Secretary of State Jesse White. Sec.
Can you get pulled over for expired tags in Illinois?
You will be pulled over and fined if a police officer observes you driving with your license plate tags that are expired or not attached to your vehicle. They can, however, penalize you even if you are not driving if they see your expired tags in a parking lot or on the street, for example, and you are not driving.
Is there a grace period for expired license plate sticker in Illinois 2021?
The expiration dates of driver’s licenses and identification cards have previously been extended until August 1, 2021. Driver’s licenses and identification cards that have expired will now be valid until January 1, 2022. There are certain exceptions, however, including commercial driver’s licenses (CDL) and CDL learner’s permits.
How much will license plates cost in Illinois in 2020?
The car registration charge will increase by $50 (to $151) at the start of 2020, while the state dealer fee will increase by $125 (to $300) at the start of 2020.
Is there a grace period for expired tags in Illinois 2022?
The Secretary of State of Illinois, Jesse White, stated that the expiration dates for driver’s licenses and identification cards had been extended by three months, from January 1, 2022, to March 31, 2022. There is an exception for commercial driver’s licenses (CDL) and CDL learner’s permits, which are not covered by this expansion.
Can I get an extension on my plate sticker in Illinois?
However, a law that went into effect earlier this month (House Bill 106 / Public Act 102-0678) gives the Secretary of State the authority to extend through December 2022 drivers’ licenses and identification cards that would otherwise have expired on January 1, 2020. White has stated that he will not grant any more extensions.
How long can you ride around with expired tags?
If you wait too long and continue to drive around with expired tags for more than six months, you run the danger of having your automobile seized. In such situation, you’ll need to get in touch with the DMV to have the records cleared and to make sure any registration fees are paid.
How do I renew my expired tags in Illinois?
What is the procedure for renewing my license plates online?
- Fill out the form using your Registration ID and PIN, which can be found on your current registration card.
- Follow the on-screen instructions and double-check your information.
- Payment can be made with a VISA, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express card.
- Take a printout of your receipt
How long do I have to get my plate sticker in Illinois?
Unless otherwise specified, the receipt created following an online sticker purchase has a validity period of no more than 30 days beginning with the expiration date of the preceding license plate registration sticker. ″A large number of clients visit Driver Services outlets to purchase their stickers a day or two before they are scheduled to expire,″ White explained.